SI Govt_Auckland HOMSolomon Islands first High Commissioner to New Zealand was commissioned at the Government House on Thursday, February 20.

Mrs Joy Kiriau Kere is also the the Solomon Islands’s first ever female High Commissioner to head a foreign mission abroad.

Mrs. Kere was the Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade prior to her appointment as High Commissioner to New Zealand.

Mrs Kere was also a member of the Pacific Leadership Program Advisory Panel.

The Solomon Islands Government  opened a new Mission in Wellington in January  to fulfill the country’s foreign relations policy of broadening its presence in strategic locations abroad as well as enhancing relations with a close Pacific neighbor and development partner – New Zealand.

Governor General Sir Frank Kabui expressed confidence in Her Excellency Mrs Kere’s capacity as a professional public officer to head the Wellington Mission.

“I am confident that you are eminently fitted, both in your personal qualities and experience in the affairs of State for the charge the Government of Solomon Islands has entrusted on you and to which you have now pledged your allegiance,” Sir Frank said when formally charging Mrs Kere.

As High Commissioner to New Zealand, Mrs Kere’s foremost task is to represent and promote the interests of the Government of Solomon Islands in New Zealand.

Mrs Kere pledged to fulfill her assigned responsibilities as expected by the government and people to ensure Solomon Islands benefit from its representation in New Zealand.

“As a Solomon Islands woman, mother and wife I am committed to do my utmost best to provide sound technical advice and deliberations as expected of the head
of mission and ensuring that Solomon Islands maximize its opportunities and benefits from its representation,” Mrs Kere said.

Mrs Kere acknowledged the Government for the confidence in her as woman to serve as High Commissioner.

Solomon Islands has diplomatic Missions in Canberra, New York, Brussels, Geneva, Havana, Taipei, Kuala Lumpur, Port Moresby, Suva and Wellington.